Subscribe  Subscribe
Previous page Previous pagePage: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5Next page Next page

Mankato Area Public Schools’ Triple A award winners) left to right) Torey Richards, Nathan Scruggs, Jonas Fu and Lauren Smith.
Mankato Area Public Schools' announces Triple A award winners

Mankato Area Public Schools’ East High School students Torey Richards and Nathan Scruggs; and West High School students Jonas Fu and Lauren Smith received the Triple “A” (academics, athletics, arts) award. The award recognizes students who have excelled in the classroom, on the athletic field and in the fine arts. To be eligible, students must be a high school senior, have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in Minnesota State High School League (MSHSL) sponsored athletics and fine art activities and comply with the MSHSL student code of conduct.

..More Information

(left to right) Doug Lago-Educare, Wade Abed, II-Educare, Kelly Sonnek-Jack Links, Brian Corbett-Educare, Patricia Lopez-Jack Links, Superintendent Sheri Allen, Mark Zenk-West High School, School Board Chair Ann Hendricks and Michael Shores-Prairie Winds Middle School
Jack Links donates $30,000 to Educare for Mankato Area Public Schools

Jack Links representatives Kelly Sonnek and Patricia Lopez presented a $30,000 donation to Educare for Mankato Area Public Schools on December 19.  The generous donation will be used to fund Makerspaces in Mankato Area Public Schools' elementaries.  Makerspaces combine manufacturing ..More Information

Pictured left to right: Malachy Bloom,  Gavin Davis, Madeline Wilcox and Mikayla Stanley. Pictured left to right: Malachy Bloom, Gavin Davis, Madeline Wilcox and Mikayla Stanley.
Students are finalists in state debate championship

Mankato Area Public Schools’ students were finalists in the recent State Classic Debate Championship. Malachy Bloom, East High School, and Gavin Davis, Prairie Winds Middle School, placed as quarter finalists (top 8 of 46 novice division teams). East High School students Madeline Wilcox and Mikayla Stanley placed as octa-finalists (top 16 of 46 novice division teams).

Jake Makela Jake Makela
Jake Makela named Mr. Soccer

Jake Makela, a student at Mankato Area Public Schools' West High School, has been named Mr. Soccer by the Minnesota State High School Coaches Association. He was selected first in Class 1A . The Mr. Soccer award is presented to top senior high school soccer players who are considered best overall players in the state.

Jameson Auger and Lauren Smith Jameson Auger and Lauren Smith
Mankato Area Public Schools' students recognized for academic achievements

This year's Mankato Area Public Schools' National Merit semifinalists are Jameson Auger and Lauren Smith, students at West High School. Semifinalists advance for an opportunity to win scholarships.The National Merit Scholarship program recognizes 16,000 semifinalists from the 1.6 million who entered the competition by taking the preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship qualifying test.
..More Information

Ariana Lopez Ariana Lopez
Ariana Lopez places third in National History Club contest

Ariana Lopez, Mankato Area Public Schools’ West High School, placed third in the National History Club’s “Lessons of Leadership” contest for her website about Allan Spear. Students were to select an elected official and describe how this person risked his or her career by making a decision at odds with public opinion. Students were encouraged to detail how that act of political courage can continue to guide and inspire today. Lopez also received a $500 prize...More Information

Mary Berg Mary Berg
Mary Berg named "Capstone Teacher of the Year"

Mary Berg, teacher at Mankato Area Public Schools’ East High School, has been named “Capstone Teacher of the Year” by Junior Achievement of Upper Midwest. This honor recognizes educators who have helped make Junior Achievement capstone programs available to students. These programs encourage students to think critically, solve challenging problems and develop real-world skills

Sam Gersich Sam Gersich
Student Sam Gersich achieves perfect WordMasters Challenge score

Sam Gersich, a Mankato Area Public Schools’ Hoover Elementary School student, scored 20/20 at a WordMasters Challenge meet. Of 7,300 students who participated nationwide, Gersich is one of 60 to achieve a perfect score. Gersich was also awarded high honors for receiving a cumulative score that was in the top 2 percent of all those competing during the school year. 

Mankato Area Public Schools’ Spirit of Youth Honorees include (bottom row left to right): Akram Osman, Hanna Shank, Dave Stahl, Nasra Ibrahim (representing Harbi Hassan); (top row left to right): Mark Zenk, Sara Meyer, Karen Barnett and Mike Shores. Not pictured: Abigail Blais
Mankato Area Public Schools’ students and staff honored as Spirit of Youth Honorees

The Spirit of Youth award recognizes outstanding youth, youth workers, coaches, teachers, adults, businesses and non-profits for their work in promoting positive youth development setting an exceptional example in supporting youth and youth efforts.
Outstanding students
Abigail Blais and Hanna Shank, East High School
Outstanding individuals
..More Information

Kari Pratt, talent development math coach, works with Jefferson Elementary School students Zoii Alas and Da'Kajsa Nance as they play a math game.
Kari Pratt engages students in learning through math games

Kari Pratt, talent development math coach, created an engaging way for elementary students to practice math—Math Play. Students use playing cards and games provided to work on addition and subtraction. Since it’s important for students to continue to learn outside the classroom, games and cards were sent home.
Math games help students learn actively, develop a positive attitude about math, increase math confidence, develop problem-solving skills and master math skills. BankVista in Mankato donated 300 card decks to distribute to students..More Information

Previous page Previous pagePage: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5Next page Next page