Subscribe  Subscribe

Mankato Area Public Schools’ Spirit of Youth Honorees include (bottom row left to right): Akram Osman, Hanna Shank, Dave Stahl, Nasra Ibrahim (representing Harbi Hassan); (top row left to right): Mark Zenk, Sara Meyer, Karen Barnett and Mike Shores. Not pictured: Abigail Blais
Mankato Area Public Schools’ students and staff honored as Spirit of Youth Honorees

The Spirit of Youth award recognizes outstanding youth, youth workers, coaches, teachers, adults, businesses and non-profits for their work in promoting positive youth development setting an exceptional example in supporting youth and youth efforts.
Outstanding students
Abigail Blais and Hanna Shank, East High School
Outstanding individuals
Karen Barnett, co-teacher, Franklin Elementary School
Harbi Hassan, community school liaison, Community Education and Recreation (represented by Nasra Ibrahim)
Akram Osman, special education teacher, Rosa Parks Elementary School
Sara Meyer, resource teacher and advocate, Franklin Elementary School
Outstanding group
Mankato East and West high schools’ VEX robotics, led by Dave Stahl, Mike Shores and Mark Zenk